One Mum's Story

Dealing with Mum guilt

In Daily schedule, Learning, Recommendations on April 8, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Heading back to work after Maternity Leave is, well, let’s just say difficult. I have other words but we’ll leave it at that for now.

What I’ve come to realize is that my children will never go without if I have something to do with it. They will always have all the love they’ll ever need (and some extra they didn’t) so just because I have to leave every morning doesn’t mean they are missing out. Our days and nights are jam packed with FUN. We have a very strict play schedule when mummy gets home and we make the most of the time we have together.

So I tell myself daily, give yourself a break!

I don’t always listen but I do say it every day. My Son is so excited when we get to spend the whole weekend together because he knows that means maximum fun. He’s going to be 3 in July and he is just the best company. My little girl kicks her legs, shakes her arms and can barely catch her breath when she sees me walk through the door!

Two things I live by:

  1. I am diligent about using my phone to take pictures and make “movies” so I can watch them while I’m away. It truly helps to think about them and what we were doing when we took those pictures. And reminds me how much fun we will have when I get home.
  2. I take some time each day to think of something fun, and attainable, that we can do during the week. For example, last week, we all needed the sheets changed on our beds so it was the “fun” task we took on. We have never had that much fun doing housework, ever! Evan was laughing so hard at one point that we made him take a potty break because we thought he might pee his pants. This week will be painting our hand prints on some canvas art we’re giving out to family members, fun and messy!

No matter what you do, you can never spend as much time as you want with your kids, there’s never a perfect solution. BUT, the name of the game is to make the most of the time you’re blessed with their presence. Time goes by way to fast and you have to soak up every last precious minute!

Leave a Reply

